Italy 2014 – Final Day in Sorrento (July 11th)

 

Friday was our last full day in Sorrento. On Wednesday we had booked a boat for the day to take us to Capri and the famous blue grotto. On Thursday evening there was a note in our room that said that our boat was cancelled because of rough sea conditions. 😦 So, we couldn’t go to Capri, which was a bummer. But we did get to sleep in a bit, which was nice.  We back around Sorrento and did some more shopping and got baby gelatos which were the perfect size. We decided to have our own fun in the sun since we couldn’t go to Capri, and took advantage of our hotel’s rooftop bar and restaurant and ate lunch up there and lounged around the pool for a few hours. After that I decided I should probably attempt to even out my calories in vs. calories out, so we went to the hotel gym. Italian treadmills are fun. Lots of math.  We finished working out, showered, and decided to go to a place recommended by Rick Steves called L’antica Tratoria. I had seen pictures online and we had walked by earlier in the week, and I was enchanted by the lovely terrace, filled with flowers and plants, with a vine-covered pergola overhead.   We were the only ones there for a while, and had wonderful service and the food was FABULOUS.  Very much what I thought we would be eating in Italy: PASTA. It was a wonderful experience all around. After dinner, a bit more shopping, and then since we are such party animals, back to the hotel and to bed. Our car service was scheduled to pick us up at our hotel at 8:45am but we had gotten another note saying our pick up time would be 8:00am due to scheduled road work and the accompanying traffic.  So the sun set on our time in Sorrento, and with it brings new adventures in Florence.

Until then…Ciao!

Baby gelatos
Baby gelatos
These pants reminded me of my student, Nathalie, so I had to take a picture.
These pants reminded me of my student, Nathalie, so I had to take a picture.
Our date at the rooftop bar.
Our date at the rooftop bar.
The view from the Hotel Plaza rooftop bar and pool.
The view from the Hotel Plaza rooftop bar and pool.
A legit sailboat.
A legit sailboat.
Bellinis over Sorrento.
Bellinis over Sorrento.
There are worse things that I could have been looking at...
There are worse things that I could have been looking at…
L'Antica Tratoria. Lovely atmosphere and delicious food.
L’Antica Tratoria. Lovely atmosphere and delicious food.
Amouse bouche
Amouse bouche
Starter
Starter
Catherine's dinner: ravioli with pumpkin
Catherine’s dinner: ravioli with pumpkin
My dinner: the "house special" angel hair with a lemon cream sauce with prawns and caviar. Served in a huge ass lemon.
My dinner: the “house special” angel hair with a lemon cream sauce with prawns and caviar. Served in a huge ass lemon.
Dessert: fruit with two kinds of lemon cream in a cone.
Dessert: fruit with two kinds of lemon cream in a cone.

 

One of the many dogs who live in and around Sorrento. I think they pretty much have it made...
One of the many dogs who live in and around Sorrento. I think they pretty much have it made…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

